Read our letter to the President of the United States

By Maggie DeWitte

letter to the presidentIowans for LIFE, in conjunction with the Iowa Coalition of Pro-Life Leaders, mailed the following letter to President Trump:


July 16th, 2020

The President of the United States


1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW

Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

The Iowa Coalition of Pro-Life leaders needs your immediate assistance. A pilot project called TelAbortion was recently launched in Iowa, along with a dozen other states, which allows Iowa women to obtain abortion pills via the mail.

We are concerned that this program poses grave risk to Iowa women and especially teen girls.

RU-486 (mifepristone and misoprostol) is a dangerous medication that kills unborn children in the womb and harms women both physically and emotionally.  The idea that girls and women across Iowa could receive this dangerous drug through the mail without ever seeing a physician in person causes grave concern among Iowa parents and grandparents and religious and pro-life leaders. We are especially concerned that school-aged teen girls could obtain these abortion pills without a parent’s knowledge.

The Food and Drug Administration hasn’t allowed RU-486 to be distributed via the mail in the past. The side effects are profound, according to their website. However, the FDA under the guidance of the previous administration made an exception, allowing the New York based Gynuity Health Projects to initiate a study. This study has now reached Iowa.

Iowa had enjoyed a two decade decline in human abortion, until the advent of chemical abortions. The uptick we are now experiencing will only increase with the availability of mail order abortions.

You have been the most pro-life president in history. You recognize that humanity is a scientific fact at the instant of fertilization.

Mr. President, can you ask the FDA to withdraw support from this reckless study? It is unconscionable that any woman could take this deadly medication without seeing a physician in person.


Maggie DeWitte, Chairperson